FALL TV PREVIEW – Vampire Diaries

Since I love most things Twilight and True Blood–I had high hopes for this series based on a YA book series written by L.J. Smith. The show (and books) revolves around Elena Gilbert (played by Nina Dobrev of Degrassi fame), a model student, and popular girl whose parents died. She has to face the world of living with her aunt and her druggie brother (played by Steven McQueen from Everwood) as the school year begins. And then Stefan (mysterious vampire played by Paul Wesley) comes into her life. Stefan is a peaceful vampire who doesn’t feed on humans. But his brother Damon comes (played by the strikingly beautiful Ian Somerhelder) is quite the opposite, and ruins the life his brother has been working so hard for. We learn why Stefan lusts after Elena, and the two leads keep diaries (hence the title) guiding us through their thoughts.

I really enjoyed this pilot. I realize it is maybe oriented towards a younger demographic (but maybe not?) but I liked seeing a Degrassi alum, and of course a Lost alum. I think it has a lot of potential. The acting was good, the vampire parts were good, and I loved that while it might be very Twilight and True Blood-esque, it still maintains a unique quality. And it helps that these are some sexy vampires.

Vampire Diaries premieres Thursday, September 10th at 8pm on the CW.

1 Comment

Filed under Ian Somerhalder, Nina Dobrev, Vampire Diaries

One response to “FALL TV PREVIEW – Vampire Diaries

  1. Josh

    As I'm sure will be no surprise, I'm dying to see this show. I've read the books (nerd alert), and I even think I read them back in the 90s, but I'm glad for Ian Somerhalder to have a steady gig and look forward to what Kevin Williamson has in store.

    If all else fails, there's still New Moon in November!

Leave a comment