Golden Globe Winners & Thoughts

The Golden Globes were pretty entertaining tonight. Ricky Gervais did a solid job hosting, and they rushed it along nicely. I can’t say I was blown away like I am at the Oscars, but I digress. There were some unexpected winners, some great surprises (some not so good), so below is a list of the TV nominations (minus mini-series) and my thoughts.
Best Television Series-Drama
  • Big Love
  • Dexter
  • House
  • Mad Men
  • True Blood

I thought this was a category with very deserving nominees. Mad Men is a good show, so I’m not surprised. Wow, sorry for the lack of insightful comments about Best Drama.
Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series-Drama

  • Glenn Close, “Damages”
  • January Jones, “Mad Men”
  • Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife”
  • Anna Paquin, “True Blood”
  • Kyra Sedgwick, “The Closer”

I originally thought Anna Paquin or Kyra Sedgwick would take home this award, both of whom I love. However, I was absolutely thrilled to see Julianna Margulies take home her first Golden Globe win. She is phenomenal as Alicia Florrick on The Good Wife, and I am so glad the show is returning for a second season.
Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series-Drama

  • Simon Baker, “The Mentalist”
  • Michael C. Hall, “Dexter”
  • Jon Hamm, “Mad Men”
  • Hugh Laurie, “House”
  • Bill Paxton, “Big Love”

I kind of thought Jon Hamm or Hugh Laurie would win (as tradition dictates) but Michael C. Hall is certainly great in Dexter.
Best Television Series-Comedy or Musical

  • 30 Rock
  • Entourage
  • Glee
  • Modern Family
  • The Office

Whew. So you all know my feelings about Glee, right? This moment was probably the best one of the entire awards show for me. The cast was dressed beautifully, Ryan Murphy made a wonderful speech and most importantly, then won! The only thing better would have been if they broke out into song on stage! That said, Modern Family is still amazing in my eyes and well-deserving too but I think it will have its time. This has been Glee’s year, and I think there are many more nominations and wins to come. With the talent pool that they have, who knows what the future holds! It has been a pleasure watching this show from the beginning, and I can’t wait to see more!

Best Actress in a Television Series, Comedy or Musical

  • Toni Collette, “United States of Tara”
  • Courteney Cox, “Cougar Town”
  • Tina Fey, “30 Rock”
  • Edie Falco, “Nurse Jackie”
  • Lea Michele, “Glee”

I was very disappointed Lea Michele didn’t take home the win. I was pretty confident Tina Fey would take home the award but Toni Colette was a bit of a surprise. She’s fantastic, but I wasn’t expecting it.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series-Comedy or Musical

  • Alec Baldwin, “30 Rock”
  • Steve Carell, “The Office”
  • David Duchovny, “Californication”
  • Thomas Jane, “Hung”
  • Matthew Morrison, “Glee”

For this award, I didn’t think Glee was snubbed. I love Matthew Morrison, but I kind of figured Alec Baldwin would win. Steve Carell is a genius though and I would have liked to see him win.
Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Jane Adams, “Hung”
  • Rose Byrne, “Damages”
  • Jane Lynch, “Glee”
  • Janet McTeer, “Into the Storm”
  • Chloe Sevigny, “Big Love”

Many critics have been a-twitter about Jane Lynch being robbed. Here’s what I think: It’s a tough category. Supporting Actress for some reason is lumped together in terms of Drama and Comedy, and I’m not sure that’s the right way to do it. Jane Lynch deserved to win, hands down. She is a comedic genius who has showed her diverse talent in film, television and plays alike. Sue Sylvester is an amazing character who she plays with such tenacity. I can’t say enough good things about her, and I wish she had won. I am not going to say Sevigny isn’t good in “Big Love.” I am glad that Lynch (and Lea and Matthew) had their big moment when the ensemble won, but I was disappointed she didn’t win this award, too.
Best Supporting Actor, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

  • Michael Emerson, “Lost”
  • Neil Patrick Harris, “How I Met Your Mother”
  • William Hurt, “Damages”
  • John Lithgow, “Dexter”
  • Jeremy Piven, “Entourage”

I had a feeling Lithgow would win, because he was great on Dexter. But, there was a big part of me rooting for NPH to be awarded for his brilliant portrayal of Barney Stinson.

Overall, I am mostly happy. Glee won, even if the actors didn’t. It was a night where new and old shows were honored, and I was glad to see so many great nominees. What are your thoughts? Who did you want to win? Who was snubbed?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment